Configuring the app user

Any operation that causes the app to interact with Intercom API (e.g. adding a comment that is being sent to Intercom, or transitioning an issue which adds a notification note to Intercom) will run as what we call the app user. The app user is the Intercom teammate who has/was logged in to Intercom when the Jira project first was connected to Intercom. This guide will explain how you can change the app user for any Jira project to another Intercom teammate.

Creating a dedicated Intercom teammate for the app

While not strictly necessary we recommend setting up a dedicated Intercom teammate for the Intercom app. You may call this user Jira app or anything else you like. Benefits of setting up a dedicated user for the app include:

  • Notification notes posted to conversations are posted as a generic user (the app user).

  • You can fine-tune and control access of the app independently of your regular Intercom teammates.

Finding configured app user for a project

You can find the currently configured app user for any Jira project by opening the Jira project's settings and clicking on Intercom integration (1) in the left-hand menu. If the Jira project is connected to Intercom you can find the app user Intercom teammate under Authorized with (2).

Changing the app user

Open Intercom in your browser and click on your avatar in the top right corner, then click Logout (1).

If you would like to add a dedicated teammate for the app have a look at the Intercom documentation on how to add a new teammate.

Back in Jira, open the project settings and click on Intercom integration (1) in the left-hand menu. Then, click Revoke Connection (2) to revoke the connection to Intercom. Existing conversation links will remain in working order as long as you connect back to the same Intercom workspace.

Follow the steps on how to connect a Jira project to Intercom. When you are asked to log in to Intercom make sure to log in with the generic app user or whichever you want to authorize the connection with.